A Nonattainment Area is a region in which the level of a Criteria Air Pollutant is higher than allowed by the federal NAAQS. For ground-level ozone, the one-hour standard is 120 parts per billion. EPA puts a city or metropolitan area on its "nonattainment" list when ozone exceeds, or violates, the standard more than once a year averaged over a three-year period.
List of books: Nonattainment,Area:

Related Articles

Criteria Pollutants ■■■■■■
Criteria Pollutants are the 1970 amendments to the Clean Air Act required EPA to set National Ambient . . . Read More
Air Toxics ■■■■■
Air Toxics are any Air Pollutant for which a national Ambient Air quality standard (NAAQS) does not exist . . . Read More
National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS): ■■■■■
- National Ambient Air Quality Standards: - National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS): : A National . . . Read More
Criteria pollutant ■■■■■
A Criteria pollutant is a pollutant determined to be hazardous to human health and regulated under EPA's . . . Read More
Criteria ■■■■■
A Criteria is Descriptive factors taken into account by EPA in setting standards for various pollutants. . . . Read More
Air Quality Standards ■■■■■
Air Quality Standards are the level of pollutants prescribed by regulations that are not be exceeded . . . Read More
Construction Ban ■■■■■
A Construction Ban is If, under the Clean Air Act, EPA disapproves an area's planning requirements for . . . Read More
Nonattainment ■■■■■
A Nonattainment is any area that does not meet (or that contributes to Ambient Air quality in a nearby . . . Read More
Diesel Particulate Matter ■■■■
- Diesel Particulate Matter : A Diesel Particulate Matter (PM) is a mixture of Particles that is a component . . . Read More
Design Value ■■■■
A Design Value is the monitored reading used by EPA to determine an area's air quality status; eg., for . . . Read More